Playing Wrong Ball

Playing Wrong Ball

Question: - In a Strokeplay Event I played the wrong ball, what do I have to do?

 

Answer: - You incur a penalty of 2 strokes and you must correct your error by playing the correct ball, before playing from the next teeing ground. 

 

If you have not corrected your error, and play a ball from the next teeing ground, you are disqualified.

Strokes played with the wrong ball do not count.

If the wrong ball belongs to another competitor, its owner, must place a ball on the spot from which the wrong ball was first played.

Rule 15-3b

 

Question: - In a Matchplay Event I played the wrong ball, what do I have to do?

 

Answer: - You have lost the hole.

If the player and opponent exchange balls during the play of a hole, the player first to make a stroke at a wrong ball loses the hole.

Rule 15-3a

In a Better Ball or Four-Ball match you are disqualified from the hole but your partner does not incur a penalty.

Rule 30-3c

 


You must return to the spot from which you played the wrong ball, drop and play a ball, under penalty of two stokes.