Smooth Sand in Bunker

Question: - Can I smooth the sand, in a bunker, before playing a ball from that hazard?

Answer:  This rule, 13-4, is changing from the 1st January 2012.

From this date the answer is "Yes" with certain provisions.

 The rule has been changed to permit a player to smooth sand or soil in a hazard, at any time, before playing from that hazard, providing that it is for the sole purpose of caring for the course.

 Rule 13-2 states that you may not improve the area of your intended stance, the position or lie of your ball, the line of play or the area in which you wish to drop or place a ball.

For previously featured rules follow this link

For queries please contact Ken Gibson