Raking Bunkers

Question: - Golf Rule 13-4a states that you must not “test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard”.

 

Does this mean if I hit my ball form one bunker to another I can not rake the first bunker as I am testing the surface of “a similar hazard”?

 

Answer: - No

Under Exceptions to this rule (Exception 3) “If a player makes a stroke from a hazard and the ball comes to rest in another hazard, Rule 13-4a does not apply to any subsequent action taken in the hazard from which the stroke was made”.

 

You can therefore rake the 1st bunker without penalty.