Rakes in Bunkers
Question: - May I place a rake in a bunker before playing a stroke from the bunker?
Answer: - Yes. You may pick up the rake and place it in the bunker.
(Decisions on the Rule of Golf 13-4/20).
You must lay the rake in the bunker. You must not do anything that constitutes testing the surface or improving the lie of the ball.
For example you must not stick the handle into the sand. This is a breach of rule 13-4 as you are testing the condition of the hazard. (Decision on the Rules of Golf 13-4/22).
Although I would not recommend it you can also place an umbrella or clubs in the bunker, providing that you do not do anything which may constitute testing the surface or improving the lie of the ball. (Rules of Golf 13-4 Exception 1) (Decisions on the Rules of Golf 13-4/20).
There is also a poster on the Clubhouse Notice Board with instructions on "How to Rake a Bunker" and the website.