Match play Dispute

Match Play Dispute

Question: - I was playing a match play competition.  My opponent and I disputed a rule. We could not agree and decided to continue playing the match and ask the Committee for a ruling when we finished. Is this the correct procedure?

Answer: - Yes

The players should continue the match without delay (providing that  there is no representative of the committee available within a reasonable time). You should then conact the Copmpetition Organiser as soon as possible

 

The Committee can only consider a claim if the player making the claim notifies his opponent:-

(i)  that he is making a claim (see below)

(ii) of the facts of the situation

(iii) that he wants a ruling

 

In order to make a claim the player must say "I am making a claim" or "that is not allowed it is a penalty"

Statements such as "I'm sure that not allowed" or "I don't think that you can do that" do not by themselves constitute a valid claim.

(Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2-5/2)

 

The claim must be made before any player in the match plays from the next teeing ground or, in the case of the last hole, before all players have left the putting green.

 

A later claim can not be considered by the Committee, unless it is based on facts unknown to the player making the claim, and that he has been given wrong information

e.g. when a player has declared a handicap higher than that to which he is entitled and this effects the number of strokes given or received. In this instance the player will be disqualified. (see Rule 6-2a)