Jumping near hole

Player jumping near hole

Question: - A player jumps close to the ball which causes it to drop in the hole. Is this a penalty?

 Answer: Yes.

The player took action that is assumed to cause the ball to move. In stroke play he incurred a 2 shot penalty and in Matchplay a loss of hole. (R&A Rules of Golf 1-2 & Decision on the Rules of Golf 1-2/4)

If the ball did not drop in the hole there is no penalty (R&A Rules of Golf 1-2 & Decision on the Rules of Golf 1-2/3.8)

 If a fellow competitor or your partner jumps and the ball then drops in the hole then they incur the penalty.  The player must place the ball on the lip of the hole. In these circumstances the player does not incur a penalty.