Indicating Line of Putt

Indicating Line of Putt

 

Question: - I was playing a matchplay better ball and was putting on the putting.  My partner decided to indicate the line of my put by placing his putter on the green. They moved away before I putted.

Is this a penalty? 

 

Answer: - Yes

 

As your partner touched the putting green the penalty is loss of hole.

(If it was a stroke play competition it would be a 2 shot penalty)  (Rule 8-2b)

You can however indicate the line of the putt providing that your putter does not touch the green

 

2nd  Question: - If my ball was not lying on the putting green is there a penalty

 

Answer: - No

Providing the indication of the line is removed before the stroke is played. ( Rule 8-2a)