Holding Flag Stick

Holding Flag Stick

Question: - Can I hold the flag stick with one hand and putt with the other?

 

Answer: Yes.

 The rules state that you can do this providing that the flag stick has been removed from the hole (Decision of the Rules of Golf 17-1/5)

 

If the ball were to strike the flag stick you would breach rule 17-3a and incur a 2 shot penalty for strokeplay or loss of hole matchplay.

 You must ensure that the flagstick is not touching the ground whilst you are putting.