Cards

Golf Score Cards

 

Question: - A player has submitted a signed card with a gross score, on a hole, altered but the alteration has not been initialled by the marker. Should the player be disqualified?

 

Answer: - No

A committee cannot require that any alterations made on a score card be initialled.

A player, therefore, can not be disqualified for failure to have any alteration on the score card signed.

(See "Decisions on the Rules of Golf 6-6a/6")

  

 

Question: - Must a player enter his handicap in the box provided on the score card

Answer: - No

A player must ensure that his handicap is recorded on the score card before it is returned to the Committee. (Rule 6-2b)

The Rule does not state where the handicap shall be recorded as long as it appears somewhere on the card.