Ball moves in Wind

Question: -

I was playing in a very strong wind.  After I had addressed the ball it moved.  Did I incur a penalty?

 Answer: Before 1st January 2012 Yes,  From 1st January 2012 No

The rule on this situation is changing from the 1st January 2012.

Normally a player is deemed to have moved the ball if it moves after being addressed.  A new exception states that if it is known or virtually certain that the player did not cause the ball to move this rule does not apply. (Rule 18-2b)

 The definition of addressing the ball will also change from 1st January 2012.  

A player has addressed the ball when the club is grounded immediately in front of or behind the ball, whether or not you have taken your stance