Ball hit on Green

Ball hit by another on Putting Green

 Question: - In a Matchplay event the two players' balls are both on the putting Green.  One player's ball is close to the hole and he does not lift it when his opponent putts.  His opponent's ball strikes his ball.  What is his opponent's penalty?

 Answer: - None

Question: - In a Strokeplay event the two players' balls are both on the putting Green.  One player's ball is close to the hole and he does not lift it when his opponent putts.  His opponent's ball strikes his ball.  What is his opponent's penalty?
 Answer: - Two shots

 Rule 19-5a states: - If a player's ball is deflected or stopped by a ball in play, and at rest, the player must play the ball as it lies.

In Matchplay, there is no penalty.

In Strokeplay, there is no penalty, unless both balls lay on the putting prior to the stroke, in which case the player incurs a penalty of two strokes.

 The rule clearly states that the two stroke penalty, if both balls are on the putting green, only applies to Strokeplay.

 This Rule does not differentiate between a Partner's ball and an Opponent's ball. It only refers to a "ball in play".

The ball that was hit must be replaced.

 Rule 18-5 states: - If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion, after a stoke, the moved ball must be replaced.

(Penalty for breach of Rule 18-5 is Matchplay - Loss of hole, Strokeplay Two strokes) 

The ball that is hit must be replaced otherwise there is a 2 shot penalty.


 For queries please contact Ken Gibson